Factory Seamstress

elsaspet

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.visionsinwhite.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I haven't taken many pictures lately, and had asked for and received some wonderful advice. Basically, it was go look at the work of others and see if you can't find some inspiration.

I work in a factory and have always wanted to photograph the seamstress I work with. They are wonderful women who never ever complain, despite their dreary working conditions. I wanted to photograph one of the ladies, Ana, but she refused to let me photograph her from the front. I got this shot from standing behind her, and I really like it. I hope you do too. I think it kind of conveys what I am talking about when I say "dreary".....

closeupsewweb.jpg

elsaspet said:
Ok, be honest. Does it suck?
Not a bit! But it's more of an interesting image, I want to study what the hands are doing, rather than it conveys "dreary" to me.

If she had let you stand back and shoot over her to include the back of her head, and around her, too - catch the dreary overhead lighting, maybe, or the tired look of the other workers at the end of the day - you might have caught that feeling better. That doesn't make THIS image bad to me, it just has a different feeling to me than what you intended. :) Does that make sense? Oh, and I'd like a little more contrast, please. ;)

i agree with Terri. i've been looking at the image for quite sometime and without a subdued facial expression or at least some factory atmosphere, it's not hitting that dreary feel for me. the image does speak to me; i like the focus on the working hands around the machine and your choice of DOF.

were you looking for serious critique Cindy? if so, i will move it for you.

Ok Terri. Thank you. I have another angle. Let me convert it, and give it to you in color and black and white. I had cropped in closely here. Back in a sec.

were you looking for serious critique Cindy? if so, i will move it for you.