Family pressure

elizabethysmom

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As a beginner I'm having a hard time with family pushing me to go into business. I've always taken decent snapshots but have only started studying photography over the past 9 months. I feel like this is a wonderful hobby, I'm passionate about it but I know I have a long way to go. An acquaintance purchased a 5dmkII last year and the next week started charging for portraits! I cringe looking at her photos. I don't want to go down that road. I cringe looking at what I Thoight was awesome 9 months ago and in 9 more months I'll know How crappy the pictures I'm taking today are.
Anyway, slight vent but anyone else feeling the pressure?

Go with your own concience. At some point, usually takes a couple years of hard work, your work will be "good enough". This "good enough" point is NEVER when your friends and family will tell you it is.

I have been doing this for years and still look back at my work every 6 months and ask myself "what was I thinking", so get used to that.

Really can't understand why so many people feel the need to charge money for inferior product....and even a harder time understanding why someone would pay them for it....hmmmmmmmmmm....

I did not start charging until people started offering to pay me on their own. If someone decides they want to pay you just tell them to give you whatever they think is fair and go from there. I started off charging close friend like $20 bucks to do portraits for their kids. Now I do wedding and get paid hundreds of dollars. But dont let anyone rush you. You decide when the time is right. But be glad they at least encourage you.

By the way, do you have any pictures that you would like to share?