Family Shots, Outside - clothing?

jands

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
On Sunday I'm doing an outdoor session with a family of 5. It's not paid, I actually asked them just to get practice. My question is about clothing. After looking at some examples, it seems apparent to me the the type of clothes are pre thought-out. Should I be telling the family what to wear? Or at the very least, make suggestions about style/color? I fear I am not experienced enough (or brave enough) to direct a family how they should dress.

I'm just wondering how much of the clothes should be pre-planned, or is it pretty common to adjust the shoot to whatever they happen to be wearing?

For what it's worth, the kids are ages 18months - 6yrs(ish).

I've never told a family how to dress for a shoot. For some reason most people love to wear white matching t-shirts.

Since you asked them, and you are doing this for free, think of yourself as the client (whereas usually they would be the clients). And since you are the client, by extension you are also the creative director. In that role it is absolutely appropriate to tell the family what to wear. However...