First attempt at Lomography

nugentch

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.kurtnugentphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I recently bought a Holga 120N (about $25) and decided to give Lomography a go. This is my first attempt. I used the 35mm adapter and shot a roll of Fuji Superia X-TRA (400 ASA). Out of 36 I got 3 or 4 that I thought were presentable.

31080016-L.jpg

Notice the red spot in the middle. Light leak? On this shot it is not really that bad, but here is an extreme example of the "red in the middle".

31080015-L.jpg

The camera has a hot shoe and I used a Holga flash unit that I purchased with the camera. Those shots came out the best.

31080027-L.jpg

31080031-L.jpg

I sent the film away for processing and had the processor create a JPEG CD so that the images could be uploaded and shared.

All in all, it is kinda cool to get back to film and not knowing how the shots will turn out for a week or so. It's kinda like Christmas when the envelope with the negatives and prints arrive. It really makes me slow down and think about the shot. Lomography may even help me re-think the way I shoot digitally.

photo.gif

Neat and different. I like #3.

Thanks. I have some B&W 120 negatives processed and may put them up later today. As I mentioned this really worked better with the flash. That is surprising as the flash unit was about $12 from Amazon.

The Holga can be fun and you'll get better results once you get used to the situations that are better for its limitations. After some experimentation, it'll be easier to predict what could be a good "Holga" shot and what will just be meh. In natural light, it's essentially only good for Sunny 16 conditions or maybe slightly under and yes, it'll flare quite easily.