First camera for learning and northern lights: Sony A6000 vs Panasonic DMC-FZ1000

MilesHi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello from Spain, this is my first post on this forum and as you can see I´m a total noob!

I need to decide on which camera to buy as I´m going on a cruise to (try) and see the northern lights in a weeks time.

I know both of these cameras are very different, but that´s what is making it so hard to decide.

I have always felt like I would like to learn photography, but as I have never had a camera to try, I don´t know if I will have the patience or time to really learn and enjoy this hobby.

The main first reason to buy a camera is to take pictures of the northern lights, and afterwards try and enjoy learning about photography.

As I´m not sure if I will really have the patience to take this hobby on, I would like a camera that I could also use for "normal holiday photos" (if the learning didn´t get anywhere)

I first looked at the Sony a6000 and the Olympus OM-D E-M10 II, but decided towards the Sony because I read a lot about the a6000 being better in low light and higher iso.

I spoke to somebody that I know and that is an expert, and he told me to get the Panasonic Dmc-fz1000 as he had it for his "holidays with wife" and used it a lot when he didn´t want to carry his dslr with all it´s lenses around.

He said that with the Sony I would have to buy lots of lenses to do the same I could do with the Fz1000.

After reading a lot about northern light photography and also the fz1000 I´ve come to the conclusion that the fz with it´s shorter focal length (not sure if this is the way you say it) might not be that great for the photos I want to take.

Against it is also the weight and size, as if I use it in the future as a "normal holiday camera" I think I might get tired of carrying it around.