First DSLR 7D or D700?

BrettD

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all!
Newbie here..:D
I'm going to get my first SLR after having many Sony point and shoot cameras that I have been very disappointed with the picture quality of. My neighbor does weddings, senior pics, etc and uses a D700 and has pointed me that direction. I see the new Canon 7D is fairly similar in price to the D700. I have several older AF Nikon lenses for an 8008, but that is not a major concern in my decision - I don't even know if they would work. I'll shoot mainly scenic and family vacation photos. Thanks for any and all input.:thumbup:

images
All I can say!!
Other than maybe seeing if he will let you try his out with his supervision to show you the ropes and then maybe trying out the 7D in the stores to compare which one you like more. You are picking between the 2 largest camera brands there is...

If the prices are similar, the D700 is more of a bargain for the most part. The 7D have more pixel if you want to print big, and I mean big (30x45) but if you don't print anything that big than it doesn't matter. The D700 which have 12 megapixel should be plenty for very large print too ( just not as much as the 7D) and it does do alot better in low light situation. Needless to say, both are very capable cameras. For casual scenic and familiy photo, I think the D700 is an overkill. Something like a D90 should be more than enough. You wouldn't need 8fbs nor do you need such extreme low light performance.

The D700 is a great camera and the 7D is shaping up to be a great camera. The D700 is obviously a full frame camera which to many folks is the sensor size to have. Others prefer the crop sensor. You'll have to figure that out on your own.

For me, I went with Canon because of ergonomics (personal preference) and cost.

Example:

A 24-70 f/2.8 lens for a Canon is $1300.

For a Nikon a 24-70 f/2.8 will cost you $1800