**First Engagement** C&C please!!

westerngirl14

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Sunday evening I shot my very first engagement session....I've shot seniors before and kids, but never an E session! So I was excited and nervous!:blushing::D It was my cousin and his fiance... They asked me to take their pictures, knowing full well I have limited experience but liked my other work and decided to let me try.
Of course I did it for free... I'm not charging them for something I'm not confident about, and besides I needed the practice! I shot over 300 shots, and ended up with 35-40 that I actually liked.

Here are some of them for C & C. Let me honestly know what you think! I can see many glaring faults myself, but wondered what you all thought! I know I shot with too tight a frame on some of them.

There were shot with my Canon Rebel Xti.

reserved.jpg

[/IMG]

parkbench.jpg
[/IMG]

#3 The bride to be wanted some pictures with this empty frame...I'd never had experience with that before but we tried a few! tipped too much?
frame2.jpg
[/IMG]

ring1.jpg

[/IMG]

courthouse2.jpg
[/IMG]

courthouse3.jpg
[/IMG]

#7 The light was so bad at this spot at that time of day but I couldn't resist this shot because of the angle, and the light caught in the courthouse windows! I know the sky is washed out BAD!:confused:

clocktower.jpg
[/IMG]

brickwal5.jpg
[/IMG]

brickwall4.jpg
[/IMG]

dalencaryn.jpg
[/IMG]

Looks like it went well. Overall, they're a nice set, and to many for which to provide detailed critique. A few general thoughts: Work on your mono conversions; these are too mid-tone rich and need a contrast increase. Try and get the subjects out of the centre, always watch your backgrounds (The playground in #2 is a bit on an image-killer, had you moved just a bit to the right, it would have been MUCH better), and always think, "Do I need fill light?"

Just my $00.02 worth - your mileage may vary.

~John

Many of them seem soft to me.