First pics posted

saycheese76

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I'm new to digital and know nothing about post. I tried to nail the exposure in the camera, so all I did was tweak them a bit in the nikon software. I know they are inconsistent as far as having the same brightness. I was just playing around trying to figure the software out. I shot these with a dark blanket behind the boys and a reading light from the side. The big guy was a bit more cooperative than the little guy.:D Any input is appreciated!
3095048856_f8f1d77e45.jpg

3095048998_d33b3d8791.jpg

3095049188_0cb11780b4.jpg

3095049368_02b4186d2b.jpg

3095049452_0f486b1bf8.jpg

3094208217_44cd8112a3.jpg

3094208307_36b512c1a1.jpg

Cute kid...

A little more light (and / or a faster lens), off camera strobe, and a little better white balance. Too many deep shadows on the face.

Maybe a different color backdrop.

Soft focus works okay for me, but too many head parts are cut off.

Last pic makes him look like he needs to wipe his nose.

Cute kid...

A little more light (and / or a faster lens), off camera strobe, and a little better white balance. Too many deep shadows on the face.

Maybe a different color backdrop.

Soft focus works okay for me, but too many head parts are cut off.

Last pic makes him look like he needs to wipe his nose.
I am trying to figure out how white balance works. I used a greycard when I shot b&w film. I think there is a white card type deal you can get. I'll try that. So an off cam strobe would just be used to fill the shadows from one side? As far as the focus goes, I was using AF in single servo mode and I don't know how to tighten it up yet. The little guy always needs to wipe his nose.:mrgreen: Thank you for your input!

Others will know a lot more than I do about this, maybe I oughta "keep my mouth shut" about it.