First portrait. C&C please.

Photos_Cantik

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Newbie here, just wanted to say Hi and let you guys know how happy i am to discover this forum. I really think ''The Tutorial Thread!'' is awesome!! Every newbie like me should start by reading it.
Anyhoo, after reading for sometime (& taking millions of pics) i am now brave enough to post one portrait, i really appreciate if anyone would care to give c&c. Thanks.

Photo is cropped & vignette (paint.net)

I think the exposure was ample and correct, but that a layer has been created and some type of blurring effect has been applied. This is one type of soft-focus approach that Dwayne Oaks uses quite often in his landscapes. I am not a big fan of this type of soft-focus type effect on pictures of people: I prefer to see a layer created, a Gaussian blur applied, and then a Screen effect applied, so that the diffusion is mostly in the highlight areas. THe way this shot has been processed, there is a lot of diffusion in the low tonal values: the effect is similar to the old days of darkroom work and film shooting: using a diffuser on the LENS, the highlights can be diffused, while using a diffuser under the enlarging lens, the SHADOW values get diffused; the two looks are very different from one another.

Maybe this wasn't post processed the way I think it was, but the result looks a lot like it. I think the vignetting is too pronounced, causing too much shifting of the colors.

As mentioned it is a tad underesxposed and I am not a fan of vignetting: to me it looks like a defect. However I think you have a very nice portrait. The light is soft and natural, very flattering, nice expression, pretty eyes. I wonder if it could be tilted a bit so the lines in the bricks were more horizontal, and is there enough room in the original to alow a little more room at the top of her head?

I sure am taking notes on what you guys think.