First Real Attempt At Portraits and Posing

mrs.hankIII

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My lovely sister agreed to be my guinea pig. I've never really posed people before, so that needs some work for sure.

This is a new lens, and I just received my DSLR a year ago, so yep. Pretty big newbie here. I can take criticism, so please let me know what I need to do differently. My white balance is off I think, still dabbling with editing as well. It was an honest try at least!

Taken with my Canon 85mm f/1.8 prime. Iso 100, f/1.8 and 1/1250. Not sure why I had my shutter speed so fast.

Attachments

• crystal1.jpg
    crystal1.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 211
  • crystal4.jpg
    crystal4.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 189
I think the first is definitely the best of the 2. If I could change the second one, I would brighten her up a little as she now seems to just be there, not really stick out. Lighting could have been better.

Agree; she's definitely a bit under-exposed in #2, and TBH, the background is a bit busy. That said, you've made very good use of DoF and the focus looks spot-on, and the lighting in #1 is quite pleasing, though a happer expression wouldn't have gone amiss.

#1 is fine, though I would have tried to get a bit more expression in her face and get her right eye (camera left) to open up a bit more.

#2, you almost never want the subject to be darker than the background in traditional portrait photography (there are exceptions to this "rule" obviously, but it is a rule of thumb for a reason). She's also pretty cold (blueish) since she's in shadow and the auto white balance took the sunlight in the background into account. The pose in #2 also isn't very flattering for her body type. It compresses her midsection, shortens her legs, and puts her arm closest to the camera, making it appear bigger. All unflattering for her body type. There's also a fence post coming out of her head.