First Shoot & I need your help/advice

MariClaire

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi Everyone,

So, I have offered to do a maternity photoshoot for my friend. I am doing it for free and it's my first shoot EVER. I'm a university student so my budget is very limited. I have a good idea of poses and creative ideas for the shoot, however, in terms of equipment I am stumped. I currently own a Canon T2i with the kit lense, I only purshased it in Nov, and needless to say I am still rather tight on savings from this purshase.

What would i need to make this a sucessful photoshoot, a new lense? Flash?

Any help is appreciated...thanks bunches!

Well, what really is your budget? I would suggest a flash personally, but that may be out of your price range... As they can be pricey.

I would say a flash is probably the most useful item you could add, but if the budget doesn't allow that, than look for reflectors and diffusers. These can be as simple as large sheets of white/light-yellow posterboard and translucent shower curtains. The secret to making this a success will be to find a location with good light. Look for an area(s) that have even light, preferably not to bright, and not dappled.

Good luck!

I really don't want to spend any more the $200 to be honest.

My grandfather was a professional photographer in his day, and I believe he could have a screen and a whole lighting set up somewhere...I'm hoping that he will give it to me..I know it will be on in years..but he keeps great care of things so they could work for me for now.

Not sure where to do the shoot, because of wonderful winter..but I am sure I will figure something out!

Depending on where you are shooting, light might be your worst enemy. If indoors, get her as close to the windows as possible. Open the blinds and all that to get more light in.