First time out with a DSLR! Please C&C

floppydisque

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So my dad has had a DSLR for a while and this is my first time taking it out. Please be harsh and let me know what needs to be fixed and stuff thanks.

1stUCSBSummer08134.jpg

1stUCSBSummer08170.jpg

1stUCSBSummer08090.jpg

1stUCSBSummer08061.jpg

1stUCSBSummer08047.jpg

C&C per req:

1. I'm afraid this image doesn't do anything for me. Technically, it's acceptable with regard to focus and exposure, but there doesn't seem to be a discernable main subject.

2. This would have been a really nice texture image, but for the soft water and blown areas toward the lower RH side.

3. This image is slightly over-exposed and could use a little more saturation. Additionally, always 'straighten' your images so that the water appears level. In this case I'm afraid it's going to run out onto my keyboard. As far as composition goes, you've got all of the interest in the lower 1/3 and nothing in the upper 2/3. I would suggest a recrop placing the lily about 1/3 in from the LH edge, and removing most of the empty water at the top. Additionally, the use of a circular polarizing filter will reduce or eliminate those reflections.

4. Technically this image is fine, good exposure, nice contrast and saturation, but, what's the subject? You have a bit of a call-box, a bit of an umbrella, some wall, and a bit of wrought-iron work. Variation is good, but always try and have "all" of one thing in your image.

5. Not bad, two issues: (1) The vertical jar upper right seems out of place, and (2) when your working with shiny, reflective surfaces, always clean them thoroughly beforehand.

Just my $00.02 worth - your milage may vary.

~John

Thanks for the help, tirediron, I really appreciate it.

For number 2 is there any way to fix that in photoshop? (sorry if it's something simple, but I don't have access to photoshop yet).