First time shooting with lights

Am I there yet

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Greetings. Looking for feedback on the following pic.

D90
18 - 105 @ 35mm
f/5.6
1/60
ISO 200

SB600 @ 1/1 off camera to right behind white sheet bounced off wall and ceiling
table lamp without shade with 200w GE reveal behind chaise

Photoshop work by subject. Contrast and brightness increased. Vibrance and saturation decreased.

This is my first time shooting with artificial light in a 'studio'. I am looking for all around criticisms. Thanks in advance for your response.

NAS_portrait3.jpg

Last edited:
I like it. It generally looks like this was the look you were going for and I think you pulled it off well. I'm sure some on here will gripe about the crop but I don't think it detracts from the photo at all. :thumbup:

What sort of feedback are you looking for most. Critique on the lighting or critique on it overall? Personally I think you have a bit too much shadow on the left. I would have liked to have seen a bit more light on that side. Even just a bit to break up her shoulder neck area with a reflector. I don't mind the crop but I really dislike the chair showing. Red is such a powerful color that it keeps pulling my eye from your model who looks beautiful. I hope you post more from this set because I am intrigued.

Thanks for the input. We will work on the others and post more soon. Got the itch!