First Try at B&W

CanadianMe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I thought I had posted this, seems I didn't or I posted in somewhere else lol. Anyway this is my first attempt at B&W on my new DSLR camera. I have a certain liking for B&W, the last time I did photography it was all Film and B&W. I would like to do more as I get to know my DSLR better but here is my first attempt. Constructive C&C is welcome, thanks for looking.

2311724956_e2c3c5516c_b.jpg

I think the fact that the shot is black and white works to the shot's advantage, but the right side of the shot is just too busy for me. The composition just seems a bit busy and chaotic to me.

Cropped version.

2311182327_562b2e0933_b.jpg

Well, how did you do your first digital black and white photography then? Did you take a colour photo and convert it later in post processing software, or did you set your camera to taking only a black and white photo? If so, then I must say your camera produced a really pleasing result! I am not quite so happy with the photos taken in the b&w mode of my camera. Oh! Hang on! I never ever tried to put the dSLR into b&w :shock: ... so actually I don't even KNOW what directly taken b&w photos would look like :oops: ...

Anyhow, this looks pleasing, and it shows that you have honed your "eye" for black and white photography in earlier times.

With regards to its composition, I am not too happy with neither the first nor the second version, but then that is purely subjective and may go past all YOU had in mind for this photo. But I personally feel the "busy" part is the main subject, whereas the frozen lake is "only" the context, and if that is the case, then I feel there is too much context there, and the subject is moved quite far to one side.