Flash Photography outdoors

CianOReilly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys. I've been shooting flash photography for a few months now but it has all been indoors. I set my camera to manual and use ETTL for the flash, and then I usually bounce it off a ceiling.

However this New Years Eve I'll be shooting a parade outdoors in the dark, and I'm just wondering what the best way to do this would be?
I'll obviously have to shoot with the flash pointed directly at the subject, but should I use ETTL? or go full Manual on the flash etc..

Keep it on ETTL because each float will have different brightness but keep adjusting the flash compensation. I would use manual with very high ISO (3200 or higher).

Whoops... I just replied but missed that you are shooting at night so let me revise.

Which flash (and or what's the guide number) do you have?

The baseline for the guide number is ISO 100 and f/1.0 When you increase the ISO to 3200 you are increasing the ISO by 5 stops. But if you shoot at f/5.6 then you're cutting the light by 5 stops (down from f/1.0) -- which means the flash's effective distance actually is whatever the guide number is.

In other words if you have a Canon Speedlite 580EX II then your flash's effective distance actually is 58 meters. The flash would be able to handle that and the light fall-off at long distances will be pretty gradual. Close subjects will have a dramatic light fall-off problem and for those situations, "dragging the shutter" (using a longer shutter speed then you'd normally use to allow more ambient light to fill the shot) ... but that will require a steady camera (and preferably non-moving subjects -- although the light will "freeze" a subject even with a slow shutter... I'm going to guess these floats have holiday lights on them and those will blur anything moves.