flash remote triggers and remote shutter releases

Charliedelta

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm looking at some flashes for a d7100. MY major priority is being able to use it off camera, and it's my understanding that I'd be better off with a radio controller (rather than going light of sight). but here comes my first problem. I'm new to flash photography and although I am very willing to learn the manual mode, chances are I'd mess up, and I'd be better off with something that uses TTL, so I thought about the sb700. I did some reasearch but all the radio triggers that I found that would allow TTL are the pocket wizards and would cost an arm and a leg. If I got something cheaper, it would not allow me to go TTL so there'd be no point for me of purchasing the sb700, and would go with a yongnuo. Do you know any remote trigger that woldn't be too expensive and that would still allow me to go TTL?

on a separate note, I haven't bought it for this camera yet, but for another camera I own a vello remote shutter release (not for the flash), which I love. if I bought it for the d7100, could i still use it in combination with the radio controller?

thanks

If you are going to use a flash off camera putting it in TTL defeats the purpose of having a controllable light source. It's easy to learn the manual flash. 1/1 is the most light and 1/128 is the lowest.

You would have to check but I know with most Nikons you can use the "commander" mode which uses preflashes to trigger remote flashes. It's a cheap way around using radios but it does have the limitation of range and needing to be line of sight.