Flatter than a pancake! *Help Please*

CollidePhotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to the world of the dSLR but decided to dive in head first. I'm doing so by only shooting manual, learning proper lighting and composition techniques, and reading anything I can get my hands on. I want to get the best image possible SOOC. However, putting it all to work is definitely not as easy as it sounds (for me anyway). My biggest struggle is getting my images to show dimension. I feel like no matter what settings I try all of my images look flat like this one:

Please help. I feel like I'm taking all the 'right' steps, but everything looks all wrong still. Constructive criticism only please and thank you in advance for advice.

Last edited:
Are you using one on camera flash? Direct flash takes out the shadows that create depth.

No, it was a continuous lighting set up. Two lights; one positioned low right and the other mid left of the scene. (Does that make sense?)

Check out your histogram. You really don't have anything darker than 70. Bring your black slider up to that point.

Kinda like this, only with the black slider.

Last edited by a moderator:
That light setup gives you less shadow, too. I'm still learning how to actually control light, but I like some shadow for sculpting. :)

That light setup gives you less shadow, too. I'm still learning how to actually control light, but I like some shadow for sculpting. :)

Makes sense! I know this will all take a LOT of practice. Thank you for your feedback.