Flowers for C&C, please :)

I'd really appreciate feedback, if you have time :)

#1 seems a little over exposed in some areas and under exposed in others i feel the shadows take away a little for the beauty of the flower and 2 is perfect in my eyes...nice shots!

P.s. im new to all this so take my comments with a grain of salt :)

Thank you for commenting :)

I wanted to have light and darker areas in the photo to give it a sense of depth. In addition, I wanted to show the wonderful detail in the petals. Since the flash comes straight on, many shadows are doomed, but some I tried to make good use of the dodge and burn tool.

As for the second one, I think it's a very clean shot. I was unsure whether to turn the clarity down or up, but I ended on up. I'm concerned it's a little over exposed, it loses some detail (the lines and such).

Also, how does the centred subject composition work in #2? I filled the frame with a crop, and I thinks it works.

You're right, the second one is a tad over exposed, esp in the top left of the petals. It's not too bad, but it's there. Your DOF is great, however, and the centered composition looks fine!

Any tips on how to improve this in elements? Perhaps have one layer where I expose correctly for the blown parts and blend it with another layer correctly exposed for the rest? Is that hard?

Or is there a simpler way?