For every photographer out there!

dcmoody23

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Alright, here's a question for all you photog's out there.

If you had the hindsight that you have now when you were just beginning, what would you give yourself as your number one tip?

As a beginner I feel like I'm misguided on many occasions at what I should be doing to better myself, and I can't help but think that some of the best photog's we have here went through the same thing, and that if I can understand how they got to where they are now that I could better myself.

I hope that question makes sense -- As I read it I'm thinking it may be hard to understand because of the wording.

Having said all of that, if you'd like to reword my question for me in your reply I would gladly change it if I feel it makes more sense :p

Alright, here's a question for all you photog's out there.

If you had the hindsight that you have now when you were just beginning, what would you give yourself as your number one tip?

For myself it would have been "Don't worry about the cost or weight just buy the darn 300mm f2.8 IS L!"

Seriously that would have been my advice to myself back when I started - however I don't think it will help you with your current situation ;)

As for you current feelings I would say my best advice is to break your photography down into areas of interest and try to focus on one or two of them at a time. You don't have to master them before moving on, just focus your interest for a time in a selected area - like portrait, insect shots, birds, abstract etc...
You can then start to tap into those in the community with specific interests in those areas and you've more chance of improving and getting better results than if you try to hit all the areas all at once.