Fujifilm Battery Woes

Top_Shot

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello Everyone!

I am an absolute beginner and not sure if this question makes sense. Let me ask anyway...

I have a Fujifilm FinePix S2800HD since a few months. I got this camera in Japan and got a set of batteries when I bought the camera
I started using the camera and started shooting pictures. For some reason, I wasn’t sure if the batteries lasted enough. I assumed that the first set doesn’t last long

I haven’t been using the camera much and a few weeks back, I wanted to explore and shoot some pics with the camera again.
So, I bought a new set of Zinc Chloride batteries and used them in the camera. Things seemed aright for the first few minutes, however, I was shocked when about 5 minutes later, it shut down saying the batteries were low. I tried turning on the phone again after a few minutes (repeatedly), but, no luck at all

Now, am not sure why this happened. I wasn’t sure what I was doing wrong or there was something wrong at all. Am I missing some trick here..?

Can you experts point to something..?
I would appreciate all responses. Thanks!

Buy better batteries. Zinc chloride are just about the cheapest type of battery available. They also decline in output (voltage) in direct relation to the demand. Very likely what happened was that your camera has a very high threshold for its low battery alert, and after just a few minutes use, while these batteries still had a fair amount of power, their voltage might have dropped to say, 1.35v causing the low battery alarm. Buy either Li or NiMh type batteries, which will be a lot more expensive, but maintain a constant voltage until they're just about expended and then drop to zero. You don't mention where you are in the world, but if you have access to brands such as Duracell, or Energizer, you'll have much better luck. Digital cameras are VERY hard on disposable batteries.