GIMP

mintwin101

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I personally can not afford to buy editing software and considering I am still shooting with a p&s :( I wouldn't waste my money anyways. So I downloaded GIMP. I am knew to editing photos so I am just randomly expirementing at the moment. Does anybody know if this is program is any good or if there is one out there that I should look at. Thanks in advance

I use it and it works great! You can't beat free! The next best photo editing program that doesn't cost a lot is either Photoshop Elements or Paint Shop Pro. Both are around or a little less than $100, and both support Photoshop plug-ins.

Great Program!

Really nice for things like cropping, color adjustments, sharpening, contrast/brightness, saturation and also has many cool filters and tools similar to 1000 dollar programs

I use gimp.

And I've always wanted to know who here uses it. Because I'm still learning it.
Are you all pretty good with gimp?

I could probably check this out myself, but I wonder how many of those are compatible with Linux. I would imagine most of them, since they're free, but I might be amazed...

Is Picasa any good? It's compatible with Linux.

I use gimp.

And I've always wanted to know who here uses it. Because I'm still learning it.
Are you all pretty good with gimp?

I use GIMP. It is Linux compatible, and is completely different from iPhoto (it has no library or organizational tools, but very heavy editing capabilities).

GIMP is excellent software. It is my editor of choice when it comes to things that are too heavy for Lightroom (lots of cloning, anything with layers, etc.). Many will tell you that GIMP is lacking features, is too complicated, or is simply not "professional quality" (whatever that means- defining "professional" in the photography world is hard enough as is).