Giving birth

loveebugg3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, so to start things off I'm pregnant. Well, I want pretty well photo's taken of my baby shower and of child birth. I'm not a pro at photography or anything but I have a pretty decent knowledge surrounding everything. Anyway I want a family member to photograph them. I have a Nikon D3100 with a 18-55mm VR lens. I've gotten used to just shooting with that lens as I can not afford another one at the moment. How would I go about helping my family member photograph one of the most special times in mine and my baby's life? Would it be easier to have them practice some before the events? Should I just throw it in P mode and be done with it? Any help would be appreciated.

If the moments are truly something you want to remember than higher a professional. It might seem expensive now, but 20, 30, 40 years from now the expense won't even be a memory, but the pictures will be something that you can share. If it's not that important and all you want is facebook stuff, sure, throw it in 'P' and hand it to whomever. Tell them what types of things you want, just so you have a fighting chance.

It's too bad you don't have a speedlight. If you can't swing a borrowed speedlight, rig up a reflector on the built-in flash to bounce the light off the ceiling.

Okay, you're talking about two very different events here:

1. The baby shower is going to be full of people (who will get in the way), you're likely to be seated (which will make you look heavier depending upon how far along you are). For the shower, you definitely would benefit from an experienced photographer. Someone who's really good will know how to set up poses, use aperture and manage the light so you get a ton of good candids and some lovely portraits. And I think that's what you want isn't it?