Going to a wedding as a guest - Bring camera?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ClickAddict

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.eternalphotos.ca
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've got three weddings I'm going to this summer simply as a guest. (Haven't been to one in a few years.) My question to you is do you guys bring your DSLRs to weddings as guests?

First off, i'm not a pro by any means. Although I'm thinking to start a photography business in a few years to build it to be something to do in my retirement for some extra cash, I'm not even to the portfolio building yet. I've read an earlier post from April which had some helpfull advice to non paid photographers at weddings, which seemed pretty obvious to me (stay out of way and such) But the blog did mention that some photographers wont allow other DSLRs at the wedding. (Which is probably getting harder and harder to enforce as more and more common Joes (Like me) are getting them)

I'm thinking of grabbing some candids during the toasts and dance and such. Watch the photographer during the formal portraits but not take any myself, that sort of thing.

What do you guys do? Go and shoot like crazy or leave the camera at home to not impose on the hired photog?

I certainly want ot bring it, just wondering on the etiquette.

I get drunk and leave my camera at home.

I recently took my P&S to a close family wedding. I stayed out of the way of the pros. I had fun and really enjoyed my pics at home. I also got to give copies to the couple before they got their set. A lot of the family got to enjoy my pics on a Father's Day get together. I saw another guest with a D90 and a 70-200 lens and she really stayed seated and didn't bother anyone. She probably got a few really good pics.

I didn't hang around during the formal portraits.