Going to buy a new DSLR. Would love camera recommendations (Canon vs. Sony A55)

sb_sparky

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there,

I am new to this forum and would love your advice.

I have always used Canon cameras in the past and my camera just died. I am trying to decide which type of camera to purchase. I am hoping to spend around $1000.

I have looked at the Canon T3I, T2I, 60D and Sony A55. (I have never used Sony before but I primarily take pictures of kids and like the 10FPS and autofocus during video features. I also like that it has a low light and backlight feature that takes multiple frames and creates one photo).

I love to take pictures and take about 400 pictures/week but am not a professional.

Does anyone have any recommendations for me?

Thanks
Allison

Last edited:
i'm just starting out, but I love my canon. between the ones you listed the 60D is what I would go with.

Well, the Sony isn't really a DSLR FYI. It has an EVF (Electronic Viewfinder). So if you really want a DSLR with an optical viewfinder, I'd look elsewhere. Like at the 60D.

I think the Sony A55 is very much a "d-slr"--it simply uses a non-moving pellicle mirror. It's actually quite small, and light, and the focusing system is surprisingly sprightly. I think the A33 might actually be the better bang-for-buck model. The Sony A33 and A55 are two small cameras that are actually kind of easy to be excited by, if you actually pick them up and handle them and understand how they work. On paper they are not nearly as attractive as they are in the hand. Compared with similarly small non-d-slr models from Canon and Nikon, I think the Sony A33 and A55 are better cameras, by a long shot.

I'm pretty sure SLRs have an optical viewfinder as a qualifying factor.

So maybe it's an SLR because it has lenses? No, that can't be. The Oly PEN, or Sony NEX don't qualify as DSLR's either.