Good starter's digital camera?

anubis404

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
What would be the best starter's camera for $300 or under? I am very new to photography, and I am thinking I may want to get started. It doesn't have to be a top-of-the-notch SLR, but I don't really want a tiny point and shoot. What would all of you recommend?

you wont find a new DSLR for under $300. You may find a used one though...check ebay, craigslist and kijiji for used ones...

The Nikon D40 is a great camera. It's suppose to be the camera for beginners, that shoots like a pro... but they run about $499.... if your wanting a good camera, up your price a bit... the D40 is 499 and it comes with a decent lens for beginners.

If you're really trying to keep cost down, look into an advanced P&S. I have an earlier model of this camera...

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0705/07050703canons5is.asp

It doesn't allow for different lenses or filters, but it's been a really great tool for me to practice manual modes. The price is just over $300.00, you might be able to find it on sale somewhere as well.

Good luck!

Yea, I saw that camera at Best Buy, and I liked it. I don't really know what questions to ask about it because I am completely new to this, however in your opinion, is this a good camera for beginner photography?

Canon S3 or now S5 would be my choice.

What about getting a cheap 35mm Rebel 2000 or something to get you started with SLR.
You can get them on Ebay for less than $50.

I really don't want to use a film camera. I don't want to keep buying film, and I want to be able to send and edit pics without a scanner. Digital is a must.

My friend has the Lumix DMC-FZ8. I think that it is a very capable camera. It takes a little while getting used to, but it has a great lens and the image quality is very high at lower ISO.