Have I understood correctly??

Strela

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All,
I am a beginner and have been studying Photography and I thoughtI would run what I have come to the conclusion is of Basic Photography. If Ihave made a mistake or you believe I could benefit from some info please feelfree to share or correct me.
Ok So My impression of Basic Photography.
The 3 man function of my camera a canon EOS 40D I need toknow are Aperture, Shutter Speed & ISO
To capture the quality looking images I want to achieve Ineed to make sure my camera is capturing the right amount of light it needs to exposethe image correctly & that exposure is determined by the 3 above mentionedthings
So starting with APERTURE
Which is the opening of the lens if I look at my lens I cansee the Iris or the aperture blades & they open & close depending onthe aperture value. Naturally the larger the opening the more light comes inthe smaller the less comes in & that is determined by the f-stop value ofmy camera.

Eg: An f/1.8 Value =a bigger aperture with more light
An f 22 = asmaller aperture with less light
“ Larger f-stop = Smaller Aperture”
“ Smaller f-stop =Larger Aperture”

But there is a secondary fact with aperture & that is itaffects the DOF
DOF is basically how much of my image is in focus
For Eg: if I have a shallow DOF my subject is in focus butit’s foreground & background is not.
If I have a wide or large DOF that means a lot of my imageis in focus not just my subject but is foreground and its background.
So if I want a blurred background being a shallow DOF I willneed a smaller f-stop values which is a bigger aperture say f/1.8
If I want a wide or large DOF that means I have to have ahigher f-stop say f/10 or f/22 and I would have a lot of my image in focus butwith less light.

Now the 2[SUP]nd[/SUP] thing that will affect my exposerwould be SHUTTER SPEED.
Basically this is how fast my shutter opens & closes ORhow long my exposure takes place.