Have you done any hotel or children photography?

Alter_Ego

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys
as some of you guys know im pretty new to photography and recently ive been asked to do a hotel shoot with a model and i really want to do it professionally so if you have any advice and tips on how i should go about this? I have a rebel xs with standard lens and i dont have any fancy equipment so im pretty much going to be pointing and shooting.

Also a lady has asked me to do a photoshoot for her and her daughter as a gift for her husband. Again i would like some advice or examples if possible?

Im sure some of you guys have done similar jobs maybe you can show me what you've done?

Sorry, but your thread title almost put me off. Never shall the twain meet, in my book.

That said, I would suggest to at least invest in a reflector (DIY or purchased) to direct the bounced (available) light in your favor toward the subject(s) if you have no intention to add flash. This would most likely add another member to your camp as an assistant. Yours or theirs, it doesn't really matter, but you want to concentrate on directing the additional light, not doing, if at all possible.

EDIT:
Just noticed the two previous posts ahead of mine. Quite informative.

Thanks for the advice. Thats more then enough for now.

Last edited:
Yeah as a 21 year old male asking about pictures of children didn't come off wrong until i realized this is the internet. Im more concerned on getting the job done at the moment so i need to do some research.

Also if anyone has any suggestions for taking photos of swimming pools at night and restaurant and bars i would really appreciate it for the hotel job :)

If you can look pass the seedy interpretation and just give off some advice im sure not just me but other beginners would appreciate that. Thanks.

........If you can look pass the seedy interpretation and just give off some advice im sure not just me but other beginners would appreciate that. Thanks.