Have you ever regretted a big lens purchase?

shefjr

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm poised to purchase a D800 and the Nikkor 24-70 2.8 and the 70-200 2.8 VrII. I have it on good authority that there are great rebates starting this sunday. My problem is that when I think about spending my OT cash on glass and gear my stomach sours. It is a huge purchase and not to be taken lightly. I know that this purchase is pro level and I'm not a pro nor do I have any intentions of going in that direction. So why the top of the line equipment you ask... Well, that is just what I tend to do. I only buy the newest, best thing out there.

So, I wonder if anyone has any situation where they regretted one of their purchases? If so I would love for an elaborate answer.

BTW those of you who know me, know that I shoot mostly wildlife. So a real quick explanation for why I'm not going with big glass is that my wife is pregnant with our first child. So my focus has changed from birds to baby.

Thank you to all those who take the time to give me your feedback. Have a great weekend!

I never regret my purchases, because I always try before I buy and do my research.

No issues with the L glass purchases, but I hate that I spent money on the 430ex flash instead of going straight to Yongnuo. Ughhhhhhhhh!!!! I also regret a small lens purchase - the nifty fifty. I simply does not get used; but neither do the gazillion kit lenses (anymore).

... I only buy the newest, best thing out there.
Just a word to the wise: It will only be the newest, best thing out there until something better comes along.

Years ago I tried to do the same thing with computers. I finally came to the conclusion that technology was advancing a lot faster than I could pay for it so I slowed down, I started using what I had and forgetting about the bleeding edge of technology.