Hawk ID help

Peeb

Semi-automatic Mediocrity Generator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Took this shot in Northeast Oklahoma yesterday. Some kinda hawk. Help with ID would be great. Thanks!

EDIT- check out the hook on the beak- juvie bald eagle, maybe?

Hawk in Kay County, Oklahoma
by Peeb-OK, on Flickr

Last edited:
The shape of the beak is beginning to suggest juvenile bald eagle to me

Another image, processed differently and cropped mercilessly:
MJK_7433_DxO.jpg

Looks like a juvi bald eagle to me.

I'm no expert with birds, esp not American ones, however this one is certainly a puzzler to me.

It's almost certainly a juvenile something and that makes it tricky as quite a few can look similar at that transitional stage in life.

The only thing that makes me wonder if its not an eagle (either bald or ) is that the beak just seems, in the photos, to be a touch too small/dainty compared to a more broad/bigger eagle beak.

A bald eagle has an all yellow beak, whilst juvenile should be all dark, so if this is one then its right in the transitional stages it would seem changing from black to yellow (note I've no idea how this transition occurs, however the bird above has a very clear line between the two colours rather than a gradual shift in tone)

Beak wise I'd say it looks closer to a golden eagle, but the legs don't look right as this bird has quite clear bare lower halves to its leg/shin rather than covered all the way to the talons. This lack of feathering there also messes it up being a rough legged buzzard, although most of the other colours and markings and beak look quite good for that match up.