Help a newb take good pictures tomorrow (Thanksgiving)

Rocketman1978

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to photography and in the last 6 weeks bought the following:

Canon EOS T3i KIT w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS and 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM prime
Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Manfrotto MK293A3-A0RC2
Outfitted all 3 58mm lenses with Canon UV filters.
Tamrac backpack to carry all of the above, plus several class 10 32GB SD cards, etc.

Just last Saturday I had my first one-on-one DSLR class with the owner of my local shop, it was very, very helpful but now I need to apply my knowledge at 2 Thanksgiving dinners tomorrow. I don't want to spoil the whole day with bad pictures, especially since its my 6-week old's first Thanksgiving. I've been shooting in "P" mode since I bought the rig because I KNOW I'm not ready for "M" and I'm not looing for point-n-shoot with the auto settings. I just wanted to see what you recommended I shoot in tomorrow (P, AV, TV) to get some good pictures tomorrow, maybe any tips you may have for this beginner. I plan on using my primarry lens: 18-135mm and may occasionally flip to my 50-prime, I will be indoors with a decently lit house and the forecast for tomorrow is partly cloudy.

Thanks in advance everybody! I appreciate any help you give, this is my first event with more than just my wife, daughter and I, and I'm pretty excited.

Happy Thanksgiving to all!

No need to use manual.

Before you take a shot, ask yourself what the priority needs to be. If it's an "action" shot then you need to control the shutter speed. If it's not an action shot then it's usually a better idea to control the aperture & depth of field. Since your shots tomorrow probably wont be action shots, I'd suggest you use Aperture priority mode (Av = Aperture value).