Help and C&C please and ty!

natural.disaster

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Even in Auto mode..they were soft and the color was horrible (to me anyway). In manual mode....her skin was soooo orange! Tried changing white balance and some other stuff but couldnt get it right. One thing i didnt think about at the time was that i have it on Vivid....would changing that help?
Here are a few shots after editing in light room. Im still learning how to use the program...and feel i have no concept of what looks good! At first glance i think they looks great, then the more i look at then...the more i think they look fake or over/under done.
Any C&C is appreciated!
I know ill get picked on for the "rule of thirds"...I worked on that this morning as well..more pictures can be found here Flickr: reachingforthestars07's Photostream

I have all the originals and can post them if anyone wants to see the "before" images, or wants to give it a go at editing to kinda show me how they should look.

#1 Posting this one just to get an idea of what others think of the colors...Is it too green, too bright, too "pop"?
4835753589_c25ac562f1_b.jpg

#2 Can i fix the sky and trees in lightroom or are they a lost cause? I havent figured out if lightroom allows you to edit only parts of the picture instead of the whole thing.
4835872367_96a00bf383_b.jpg

#3 Does the editing work here?
4836420126_cf44cca398_b.jpg

Wow....i guess from the resizing to fit the forum...they look grainy and blotchy posted here...

Are you shooting in RAW or JPG? Shooting in Vivid will definitely do strange things to portraits; if you shot it in RAW the original data will still be there, but if you shot it in JPG it's going to take some work to fix it. You can start by desaturating a bit.

#3 is your strongest pic here in my opinion, and the editing is nice, but it looks like the focus was just a bit behind her (look at the tracks to the right), which is why she looks a bit soft.