help! Cant get my photos right! Any help all help appreciated!

NEWBIEPHOTOGRAPHER

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new at taking photo of jewelry. I have a Canon T2i Rebel with a 60mm Macro Lens and a Digital Lighting System.

I also process my photos in Adobe Photoshop cs2

Here is an example of what I am getting. I use ISO 800 Custom White Balance F16 Shutter speed 50-100

http://d3d71ba2asa5oz.cloudfront.net/32001225/images/pendant941__1.jpg

http://d3d71ba2asa5oz.cloudfront.net/32001225/images/pendant1809__1.jpg

But I am trying to reach a level of photography such as the images below.
I do not know what i am doing wrong. I can't seem to get the brightness and depth of field and crispness of these photos below.
What am I doing wrong or what are they doing right! PLEASE HELP!

http://www.jgtradinginc.com/anaco/pendants6/PD55826.jpg
http://www.jgtradinginc.com/anaco/pendants6/PD55741.jpg

I'm pretty sure all you have to do is turn up your saturation like 10 in photoshop CS2. I just did it and it looks identical.

Could you show me the picture you corrected..Thanks for your help!

pendantedit.jpg
You can change whatever parts of the picture you want, I think it's a bit misleading though if you're selling these.

Your key problem is 100% the lighting alone (along with some minor corrections needed to camera settings). However first what exactly is your Digital Lighting setup?

Hey Newbie,

Good news is, your pictures are good to start with. Nice lighting and composition. And you also have the correct tools to make good pictures great. All you need is some white balance and level adjustments for contrast.

In Photoshop this was a 2 step process per picture

1) Do a Shift+CTRL+B for Auto color correction (Photoshop did a pretty good job with Auto on your picture)