Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Bokeh Enthusiast

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All,

I am a fairly novice photographer getting into higher end cameras. A pro-photographer friend recently took some of our photos with his Fuji X-Pro2 in JPEG mode with a 35mm prime lens and the photos were unbelievably sharp and bright given the indoor low-light conditions. I really like the X-pro2 but at the same price point I can get a full frame Sony A7II (which has IBIS as well).

Factors that a couple of pro-photographer friends mentioned are which lens system I should be buying into - the Sony lens system or the Fuji lens system? A full-frame system or an APS-C system? Some have recommended a cheaper camera with a great lens (e.g. a Sony A6000 or A6300 with a good lens).

Some of my criteria for purchasing:

1. Good low-light performance - both indoors and outdoors at night.

2. Minimal to no post-processing. Fuji is well-known for its high quality JPEGs straight out of the camera.

3. An excellent lens system.

4. Sharp images with vibrant color.

I am going to rent the X-Pro2, the A7II, the A6300, and the A6000 to play around with. What rental lens do you recommend to test these cameras out?

fuji has an excellent lens linup.
sony has less lenses i believe, but what they do have is very good.
if you want the best low light performance, go with full frame.
its hard to do a direct comparison between a DX and FX system.

Your criteria, besides #1, are somewhat subjective, so I think renting lenses is a good idea.

The best everyday lens for the a6300/a6000 is probably the Zeiss 24 1.8 or the Zeiss Touit 32. The best mid-level prime would either be the 50 1.8 or 35 1.8. The best zoom is probably the 16-70, though there is a bit of a quality control issue. If you get a good one, though, it's like a bag full of primes. The best bang for your buck zoom is probably the 18-105.