Help! LR questions...

Discussion in 'Graphics Programs and Photo Gallery' started by MLeeK, Feb 23, 2012.

  1. MLeeK

    MLeeK TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6,761
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    NY
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Yes, first real use last night. No, I only imported the one game I was working on. Somewhere under 200 raw images from my 1d3


     
  2. robolepa

    robolepa TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Detroit
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Try optimizing your catalog. Click on "File", and select "optimize". It should always be the first thing you do when LR is running slow.
     
  3. JG_Coleman

    JG_Coleman No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Wolcott, Connecticut, USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Lightroom 4 is just a beta-test release right now. Speed enhancements are pretty much the last step in the process towards a finished product. The purpose of the beta is essentially to demo new features/enhancements and get feedback before the final version is released.

    It is not intended for production use or high-volume processing in its current state.

    This issue was also brought up on Adobe's LR4b forums. Some people complained," How am I supposed to know if I can use LR4 for my work if it's so slow?"

    The fact of the matter is that LR4b is only a demonstration of the new features, not refined and finished product. It is not meant to be used as a "trial version" of the software for us to decide if we want the full version. The beta is a pre-release of a program that is still being developed. If you're interested in how fast it will be when it's actually released, you'll have to wait until it's actually released and then download the trial version that Adobe offers (it has offered limited-time trials for other versions of LR, I presume they'll do the same for LR4). But, in it's current beta state, the program is not optimized for speed. The ONLY reason that we have even been able to see this program yet is to demo the new features and offer feedback, not to put it through the paces with heavy-duty, high-volume processing.
     
  4. MLeeK

    MLeeK TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6,761
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    NY
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    We aren't talking high volume here. We're talking it's impossible to process ONE image with. I didn't do a full tournament or anything on purpose. I am not ready for that as I am NOT a LR lover (to say the least.) This is insane. You can't do jack with the new settings to see how good or bad they are going to be if it is running THIS slow.
    If I adjust a slider it does NOT react... then goes to Not responding for a good 10 seconds and then all of a sudden wakes up and does whatever I have adjusted. At which point I start the process all over again until I finally hit the right WB. And the sliders? totally unuseable .I HAVE to enter in a numeric value or I could be trying to bump the blacks by 1 or 2 and get 135 by using the slider.
    This isn't an "optimizing for speed" issue. This is a totally unuseable issue and I can't believe that Adobe is even putting out a beta that does this crap. I know it's something on my computer going on. This is FAR beyond slow.
    I even went so far as to export the images I finished last night, then totally remove them from the catalog to leave me with less images in the catalog. If LR4 beta can't handle 200 raw images in a catalog I can't imagine it handling a few thousand even after it's been optimized.
    Something is not right here.
     
  5. GeorgieGirl

    GeorgieGirl No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    324
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I am not having this issue with a photo as a single with LR4. I agree somehting is not right. I don't know what it is but I am sure this is not what they intended. The last time I had an issue that sounded like this was with Elements, and I got a new computer with this that and the other (the one I have now) and I had no issues ever again...
     
  6. Rephargotohp

    Rephargotohp TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    148
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I found the answer
    "Lightroom blows monkey balls"

    Hahahah..seriously worst program ever and I used it all the way back to when it was Raw Shooter before Adobe bought it and monkey'd it up. At the time it was the best RAW program without a doubt

    I only have it because a lot of the programs I review are plug-ins for Lightroom

    I like a couple things, otherwise...it's annoying. But I am by far in the minority...and that's OK
     
  7. MLeeK

    MLeeK TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6,761
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    NY
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am a LR hater too. I just really wanted to play with the new tools that will be coming in the next ACR and see if it's all that with a side of special-ness. Evidently I will just wait until CS6. I knew I hated LR for a reason!
     
  8. Rephargotohp

    Rephargotohp TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    148
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'll be serious ...for a moment, Try updating the driver for your video card. a lot of slow issues in LR and CS 5 even have been traced to video card drivers especially nVidea cards
     
  9. MLeeK

    MLeeK TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6,761
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    NY
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    That's about the only thing I haven't tried.
    I have uninstalled & reinstalled
    disabled windows defender
    Torn some hair out
    made sure NOTHING else is running
    disk clean up
    disk defrag
    health check
    check disk
    thrown things at the wall
    disabled the cache
    expanded the cache
    Re-installed
    turned the preview quality down
    added a 16G jump drive to be used as ram
    Torn more hair out, screamed bloody murder and turned into a raving b1tch.
    Just about given up. But I just can't let it go!!! SOMETHING is going to click into place and BAM it's going to work-at least at a normal slow rate!
     
  10. GeorgieGirl

    GeorgieGirl No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    324
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You need a Mac...:D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. MLeeK

    MLeeK TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6,761
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    NY
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I REALLY do!!!!!
    It needs to be a bulletproof Mac too.
    I do have a macbook here somewhere... Of course it's probably an antique now. I think it's a G4? yeah, stone aged.
    Someone want to tell my husband that I HAVE to spend a couple grand on a new computer system, plus calibration... OH and don't forget Mac copies of all of my software... That's almost as daunting as switching to nikon.
     
  12. Overread

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    4,755
    Location:
    UK - England
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit


    Isn't Lightroom 4 still in beta testing? Maybe it would be better to test for performance with Lightroom 3 and then get the 4th version demo when it official comes out (granted it should be fairly bug free by now, but you never know you might be one of the unlucky with an - as yet - unfixed problem).

    If it still is in beta sending details to Adobe might well help .
     

Share This Page