Help me decide between two Nikon Lenses

Wildcats160

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a general purpose photographer. Although I wouldn't call myself a wildlife photographer, I like to take a camera out in the woods when hiking/hunting and just photograph whatever I see including animals. At the same time, my daughter is getting older, and I would like to be able to shoot her future sports games and things like that. I have been looking for a telephoto, and two of the lenses that I have had my eye out for were recently put up for sale locally.

The first is the Nikon 70-300G AF-S VR. The seller wants $250.

The other is the Nikon 80-400 F/4.5-5.6D ED VR (not the AF-S version). The seller wants $400.

From what I understand, the big benefit to the first is a faster autofocus, whereas the benefit to the second is more reach.

Has anyone out there used both (or either) and can offer a real-world perspective or recommendation for a wildlife/sports/landscape shooter?

I'm a Nikon shooter. I have used both lens but I don't own either of them. I'm not going to go in to detail on why one lens is better than the other--Derrel is probably better at that and I didn't use either long enough to form a strong impression--especially compared to each other.

Depending upon what you're shooting in terms of wildlife, 400mm is the minimum distance you'd want. I have a 600mm that I use for wildlife. Of course, you have to be willing to lug something that big around when you go out hiking or hunting. Additionally, when shooting with a lens like that, you really need to plan on using a tripod.