Help me decide on a Digital Camera...Please!

daveyboy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hiya guys i was wondering if you could help me. I literally no nothing about digital cameras and to be honest aren't that keen to buy one, although i no i need too for cost reasons and because that seems to be the industry standard nowadays.

I have a small budget of up to 300pounds. Im from London. Curious to know what you experts think are good cameras for around that price bracket. Im a amateur photographer and don't really know what i need to look for in Digital. Is the megapixel the only thing that affects the quality,sharpness of an image? Im looking to take quite high res photos, unsure what resolution but guessing i need maybe 1gig card, im unsure.

I want it to be a Digital SLR. Sorry this isn't a clear post, but if anyone has thoughts and recommendations that would be great.

Thanks all.
Dave

Unfortunately £300 is a small budget for a dSLR. I expect you are probably looking at either used or 'refurbished' cameras. Of these I would consider 'refurbished' the safer option. If I remember right, Canon have an official 'refurbished' camera seller on Ebay, and you might be able to get a 300D or maybe even 350D, while a good shop in Watford sells refurbished Pentax *ist DL or DS for under £300. There may be other retailers who sell these or Nikon, Minolta and other brands refurbished, but hopefully someone else will have more info. Bear in mind that all of these 'refurbished' cameras are likely to be a body and no lens.