Help on off Camera Canon Flash w/ example

B Kennedy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok so here goes, this is my first time posting an image online (it should be around 700x900 pixels), I know this isn't the C&C forum, but bear with me as my question is related to off camera flashes.

The attached photo(hopefully it attaches ;))
So this was a portrait done on a beach and I used only an on camera 580ex2 flash. As you can see from the exif data, it was shot on manual at f7.1 1/200 sec with the flash at full automatic. Now let me explain the senario, there was wind at my back (in their faces) so my first decision was for them to face into the wind so that their hair was not blowing in front of their faces and I tried to position them in such a way that they were ~45 degrees to the sun. This picture has some post opt work done to it, minimal as I just did a big of cropping, setting white balance, a bit of highlight control, and the obvious, I had to open up the shadows on the sides of their faces.

My question is this:
I took the picture with the flash head on. I know the shadows were a bit too dark and I didn't have a reflector (which I'm sure would have been nice). I don't think shooting straight on really helped the situation because im sure it opened up the shadows a bit on one side but i didnt need the brighter highlights. I had a 2nd 580ex2, but I guess I would have just shot my on camera 580 straight up and used it to control the fill? Or should I just look to invest in a receiver/transmitted pocket wizard and use 1 flash?
Also as a side note, I didnt use any diffuser.

Attachments

• $IMG_0111 copy.jpg
    $IMG_0111 copy.jpg
    83 KB · Views: 149
So what is your question specifically? :scratch: