Help - studio kit, flash, advice appreciated!

Pete'sGirl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am an amateur digital photographer. I took photography in college in the days of dark rooms and real film. It has been a while since I have been involved in photography and I really want to start practicing again. There is so much I have forgotten in 15 years!

Can anyone recommend a good but affordable studio photography kit with backdrop? I know the strobe lighting kits are for more advanced photographers. I found this one: Amazon.com: Flash Studio Photography Lighting Kit continuous lighting kit 2 B/w Muslin Support Stand Kit 2 Mini Studio Flash Strobes Light Kit + Case for background stands New By Ephoto INC K103/45AB: Camera & Photo but I can't tell if it is continuous, strobe, or both.

Also, what kind of flash/flash accessories are necessary for portrait photography? I have a Sony a350 and the flash on it is terrible.

Thanks!

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Adorama Flashpoint 320M monolights. Look into them on the web. Skip that cheap junk continuous lighting stuff that is widely sold on eBay and Amazon...you want flash, not continuous...

My suggestion would be to look at items that have been reviewed if you are going to buy off amazon. That way you can see what other people actually thought about the product.

My suggestion would be to look at items that have been reviewed if you are going to buy off amazon. That way you can see what other people actually thought about the product.

There are hardly any reviews on Amazon, and none for the one that posted.

Adorama Flashpoint 320M monolights. Look into them on the web. Skip that cheap junk continuous lighting stuff that is widely sold on eBay and Amazon...you want flash, not continuous...

That's the thing - this Amazon one says it is both, flash and continuous. So I am totally confused! I will look into the lights you mentioned.