Help with camera (body) & lense choice?

voyageaimer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all,

I wasn't sure where I should post this, as I have just discovered and registered the PhotoForum. I have been a heavy user of forums (TripAdvisor & numerous auto forums) for years, but I am relatively new to photography. I have always had a passion for it but I never tried to go real in-depth.

My first camera was the instant print Polaroid (can't think of the name) in my early year. Fast-forward and I have my using my Canon T3 with the kit lense (18-55mm) for the past 2-3 years, as well as a GoPro black edition (and of course, the infamous iPhone's). My travel obsession has made my interest in photography even greater.

Anyway, finally to the point :). I really like my camera and I think it takes very good-great pictures, but I know it is outdated and is certainly not the best out there. I was originally looking at upgrading to the T5i until I read that it utilizes the same imaging sensor? that goes way back to T2i. I'm now almost 100% set on getting the T6i, but I'm unsure which lense to get with it? I would like to keep it to $200 or less.

Keep the lens you have and just buy the body! If you want to upgrade might as well go with the T6i, as the T5i will not be much of an actual upgrade sensor performance wise. If anything maybe pick up a 35mm or 50mm prime lens.

Do you have a flash. That would also be a good investment to help improve shots when it's not light enough. If you get one that works off camera that would be best. There are other brands that work with Canon that is less expensive than Canon flashes. Quite a bit less in some cases.