Bend The Light

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All,
Tomorrow, I am picking up a set of studio lights. I am borrowing them.
Not sure exactly what they are, to be honest, but I do know there are 2 of them, and they have softboxes which are about 20in square. They are on stands. I believe they have cables to trigger them from the camera hotshoe...
I have NEVER used anything like this before, and I am going to take portraits of dads and kids at a saturday club I go to with my daughter.
I will have the use of a room which is about 12 x 8 ft with windows with blinds at one end. I can put some sort of backdrop up.
Question...based on this (poor, I know) description, what sort of set up would you use?
I have a canon 400d, 18-55 kit lens, or a number of manual focus lenses (e.g. 28mm, 30mm, 35mm, 50mm f1.8), and either hand held or a tripod.
Or, could you give me some ppointers on other ways to approach this?
The dads and kids know I am new, and so are not expecting miracles, but I would like to get a few nice shots of them.
Cheers

New to this type of photography I have done a lot of reading, I have seen a lot of recommendations saying 85mm to 100mm is the optimum focal length for Portraits. I only have a 18-55mm lens and have gotten some good photos of my daughter though just have to be closer. I would say from my experience as a beginner I would use a tripod. My photos are always better that way.

Just a beginner trying to learn here also so take my advice with a grain of salt I could be totally wrong.

Also I do believe there is debate between f8 and f11 being the best aprature for portraits. Though seems pretty consistent people believe it is one or the other.

remember that your camera is a 1.6 crop sensor too... so that 50mm isn't really 50mm.

And cables don't plug into camera hot shoes.