Help with my Nikon d800!

CThomas817

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So yesterday I shot portraits outdoors at a local park on an overcast day. I started shooting around 3:30 pm and my camera was operating perfectly fine. I was using a Nikkor 85mm 1.8g lens. Around 4:30pm, the camera started struggling to fire. ISO was at 400, shutter around 1/250th, aperature close to wide open (maybe 2.2). There was plenty of contrast in the photo/the camera was focusing and I definitley was not too close to the subject. Battery had plenty of juice. I had to wait about 30 seconds and then it would fire. Once it fired the histogram was more than acceptable and the child's face was tack sharp. Any idea what the issue could have been?

One other thing I should mention is that I was shooting a child who was sitting relatively still when this happened. I was still in AF-C from when she was moving around. Would that have had an effect?

Thanks

Maybe you left camera on timer so it counts 10 seconds till it fires ?

You tripped the shutter 30 seconds before the shutter actually opened and made the exposure?

Definitley not on a timer. I know my Nikon basics pretty well by now. I was shooting the entire hour prior with no issues getting great, properly exposed shots.

And no it wasn't that it fired 30 seconds after tripping the shutter - the shutter wouldn't trip period. I was at 1/250th of a second. The camera went from working perfectly fine to not working without any settings being touched. Basically I kept trying to fire and maybe after 30 seconds of attempts the shutter finally tripped. Almost like how it doesn't fire when it can't focus only in this situation I had focus.

This is a used camera and although I bought it in excellent condition, there was no shutter count provided. Could the shutter have exhausted? Like I said, battery was good. I shot about 250 frames over an hour and a half.