Help with understanding terms?

Aedai

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Particularly f-stop. After reading the term on a page about exposure I looked into it and I'm still not sure I quite understand it.

I read that the lower the number is sharper your image is? Correct me if I'm wrong please.
What I'm confused about is how does it work? Is there a setting in the camera to play with, is it pre-setup in the lenses? I probably sound foolish to you more advanced photographers. /noob

Also in terms of camera settings... Should I set my ISO to auto or should I set it to 100 or does it depend on what kind of photograph I am taking?

And one last thing. I'm in an area that has a lot of waterfalls and steams and I love the "smooth" water effect and I'm not sure if my camera (Canon Rebel T3i) is capable of capturing one of those kind of images?

I apologize for being a complete noob!!

Particularly f-stop. After reading the term on a page about exposure I looked into it and I'm still not sure I quite understand it.

I read that the lower the number is sharper your image is? Correct me if I'm wrong please.
What I'm confused about is how does it work? Is there a setting in the camera to play with, is it pre-setup in the lenses? I probably sound foolish to you more advanced photographers. /noob

Also in terms of camera settings... Should I set my ISO to auto or should I set it to 100 or does it depend on what kind of photograph I am taking?

And one last thing. I'm in an area that has a lot of waterfalls and steams and I love the "smooth" water effect and I'm not sure if my camera (Canon Rebel T3i) is capable of capturing one of those kind of images?

No worries, we all start somewhere. I did a posting on this already today that covers some of the basics so I hope you won't mind if I just give you a link to that one.. it's kind of wordy.. lol.