Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys, I'm very new to photography..

I have a Canon 600D, Standard Twin lens Kit
18-55mm
55-250mm
Speedlite 430Ex II

I'm still learning the ins and outs of the camera from shutter speed to ISO and that is partially why i joined the forum...

I originally just roamed around snapping random stuff on full auto Setting still amazed at how good A DSLR can be...

I wasn't using much so I thought I might as well try and make a bit of profit somehow and pay the camera off...
My mate started wedding photography to build his portfolio and told me about a small nightclub that was possibly looking for a photographer . I contacted the manager and had my first night shooting there on Thursday! it was incredibly fun.. However I pretty much jumped in the deep end because i had no idea what settings to use..

For portrait/group shots:
f:5-5.6
ISO: 400-800
SS: 1/6

For general area shots:
f:4.5-5.0
ISO: 800
SS: 0"6

Flash was on Auto TTL, 2nd curtain for both.
Bounced 45 Up, however with a low dark roof, so I'm not sure whether to just have it face on with diffuser...

I guess I'm just looking to increase my knowledge in Nightclub Photography and Flash settings etc...

I haven't really looked around the forum heaps yet, so ill prob chuck up a photo or two later..

Cheers guys
Stibbs.

[EDIT] Added some shots, Re-sized to upload, guess ill have to read what the max single file size limit is..
anyway.. have a look.
These shots are straight off the camera, no CS4 yet,

1. Standard Couple shot away from Dancefloor
2. This one is blurry but shows the room/lighting I have to work with
3. On the Dancefloor, lasers/smoke etc

Attachments

• $IMG_2011 copy.jpg
    $IMG_2011 copy.jpg
    360.2 KB · Views: 101
  • $IMG_2036 copy.jpg
    $IMG_2036 copy.jpg
    741.2 KB · Views: 78
  • $IMG_2165 copy.jpg
    $IMG_2165 copy.jpg
    703.9 KB · Views: 103
Last edited:
If you want info on what you're doing, post images not settings.