Hi Thanks for having me on here!

Ellwood Taylor

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a question straight away but I should give a little background first. I have inherited my father's Durst m700 enlarger with a colour head and various other equipment. I used to help him develop enlarged prints and film in the 70s. He won a Minolta competition once and was a member of the RPS. I have every intention of learning the craft of developing and using his equipment but I'm a complete novice. I'm fine with my way round the camera it's just the darkroom side of things I was just to young to learn properly. I remember timing things and rotating the cylinder with the chemicals but that's it. I will listen hard and learn as quick as I can. I would appreciate it if anyone could point me towards any literature, blogs, threads, videos etc please.
Thanking you in advance.
Ellwood

Hi Ellwood, welcome to the forum hope you enjoy it here.

Welcome to TPF! We're happy to have you on board with us. :)

We have a lot of film enthusiasts here. I'm going to move your thread over to the film forums, where you'll likely get lots of help for your pending darkroom. Have fun!

Welcome!

I tell all noobs to a darkroom should go out and find some old photo books. Thrift stores I go to always have some sort of photo books cheap.

These cost me $2 each.

Found a PDF manual for you enlarger if needed..... http://ebgy.free.fr/photo/docs/durst_M700.pdf

Welcome aboard,Ellwood! The basics of developing film,contact printing,and making prints and enlargements,should be easy enough for you to learn in a week or so!

Welcome!