Historic buildings on Main St.

JimMcClain

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
1footinthegrave.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I seem to be drawn to this part of town. I think the Clinch Building is one of the most beautiful in Quincy, CA and I keep trying to do it justice. Yesterday morning it had a strange looking cloud hovering over it. I'm still new to Lightroom 5, so I don't know how to make it appear softer and fluffier. Share your ideas, if you have them, and give me a little feedback on this picture, if you will. Thanks.

$clinch-bldg017.jpg

Your description is mostly about the church, but there is a second building in the shot. I would rather see one building per shot. Of course, multiple shots of the same building is a good method of showing why you are interested in the building. Generally, one or more overall shots, depending on how many elevations are able to be photographed well, and then some detail shots more tightly framed.

Also, the light was working against you.

Your description is mostly about the church, but there is a second building in the shot.
Not a church, the building on the right is called the Clinch Building. I forgot to mention the other building, which is known as the Plumas County Bank Building. The two are attached at the hip, literally. I titled the post "Historic buildings on Main St." because there are 2 buildings. Sorry for the confusion. It's a picture of a block that has only 2 buildings on it facing Main Street.

Also, the light was working against you.
Could you explain that a little more?

Thanks for your feedback.

Jim

IMO, this picture is waaayy too blue and the buildings are underexposed.
There is some strange distortion that I tried to correct.

$clinch-bldg017lll.jpg

Jim,

If this was straight out of the camera, I can't imagine what is going on.
I used PS to edit the white balance, saturation and try to correct the distortion.