Homemade Studio Lights

Byronnn

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,
I'm not sure if this is in the right category, and I'd encourage a mod to move it if it isn't!

I'm sort of new (18 months) to photography, and as such have huge gaps in my knowledge.*Im a poor student and cant afford the epuipment I'd like, so what I'm looking to do is build a simple non-syncing studio flash.

I was thinking of getting some sort of work light on a tripod like this:
*http://www.oneprojectcloser.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/tripod-work-lamp.jpg
Then replacing the bulb with something whiter, adding a dimmer, then creating some sort of wired remote that would cause it to flash.

My father is a former electrician and explained that while a dimmer is easy to install on appropriate bulbs, a flashing mechanism is slightly more complicated.

I don't really care about it syncing with my shutter. That isn't really necessary for the type of photography I do.

I'm not expecting a complete solution or explanation, but I was hoping for a push in the right direction and a some foresight of potential problems from someone more experienced.

Byron*

Last edited:
If you don't care if it syncs with the shutter, why do you want it to flash?

And why the dimmer and flash? The power of a flash is controlled by the duration of the flash, not by a dimmer.

And why do all that on a work light platform? It's a poor choice for photography quality lighting.

If you want to go with lighting, on the cheap, you can use work lights, but just use them as it or maybe find a way of diffusing them without burning the house down.
I really don't see a need to reinvent the wheel here.

I use a work light I purchased at Lowe's Hardware for $10.00 and diffuse it by hanging a sheer white curtain over it, or aim it to the ceiling and use the reflected light.

It's a constant light obviously, no syncing, but it worked fine for the boudior photos I did last week.