Hotel Room Photography

samvegas

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys, total noob here. I just have a question. A few years back a photographer was hired by our hotel to take photos of the rooms and restaurants. The person came with a DSLR camera and a tripod, no lights or anything. He took the attached photos, all i remember is he did some settings, then stood back and the photos were shooting on their own. If I was to re-create these, what camera, lens, and settings am I looking for? And what editing will take place to make it look this way? Also, are these or similar to these possible with mobile phone cameras? Thanks for the help

Attachments

• 7-min.jpg
    7-min.jpg
    70.1 KB · Views: 124
  • 11-min.jpg
    11-min.jpg
    70.7 KB · Views: 122
  • 12-min-1024x600.jpg
    12-min-1024x600.jpg
    42.9 KB · Views: 113
  • 31-min-1024x600.jpg
    31-min-1024x600.jpg
    70.6 KB · Views: 119
You shouldn't try to recreate those...

Any decent DSLR or mirrorless camera should do, including most entry level models. A wide angle lens is your friend here - looking at these, I would guess the wide end of a standard zoom, so around 18mm on a crop sensor camera or 24mm for full frame. The kit lens should be fine since you'll be using a smaller aperture anyway, although higher end lenses will likely be sharper, and something wider may be useful in smaller spaces. You'll want to shoot from a medium height to avoid perspective distortion and keep the vertical lines vertical, so assuming 8' ceilings, shoot from a height of around 4'. The automatic shooting you observed was likely bracketing, where the photographer took different exposures to combine in post, rather than relying on their own lighting. This allows for brighter shadows without overexposing brighter areas. Architectural and real estate photography is a skill unto itself, but with a few simply rules you can achieve some pretty nice results.