How can I show to the internet brides I’ve taken photos of?

aspiring39

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I’m an aspiring traveling photographer for just about anything. I’ve had experience in wedding, travel, and nature photography under the wing of my mentor and boss that I won’t disclose here. I’ve been under him for about 5 years now and I think it’s safe to say that I’m ready to spread my “wings and fly off.”

During my travels alongside him, I’ve taken hundreds photos which are mostly from weddings; since wedding photography is where the big bucks come in. I’ve now gotten a collection of portraits perfect for a personal portfolio. I was thinking of setting up my own wedding photography team as a way to earn capital for other opportunities. I know that events are where photography can earn large amounts of income so I’d want to start from there. The only question is, how can i show the internet brides I’ve taken photos of?

What are the image publication laws where you are and plan to base your business from? (No location info in profile.)

Here in the US to use images of people made under controlled circumstances to promote you have to have written permission - a valid "Model Release" form on file - from any recognizable person in an image to use their likeness to advertise/promote your business.

The photos taken while you worked for your mentor/boss could/would be considered HIS business property, not yours, even if you shot them. Because those where HIS clients, not yours, and you were working for him. Thus you cannot use the images without his approval, in writing. You would need to get that legal point figured out.

You may have to buy the rights to use those photos from your boss.
But you are not yet clear to use them.

Next, following on Keith's comment, any release given by the bride and groom was to your boss as part of the original contract with HIM, not to you.