How do i control multiple flashes from my nikon d40?

paterson00

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I want to start up an amatuer studio so that i do not have to pay silly prices for good family portraits, i am "officially" the family photographer now i have bought the d40 but i love it so dont mind at all, but i do not know yet how to control multiple flashes from one camera.

I have heard of sync cables and slave units etc etc but nobody has broken it down in plain englsh for someone who is a complete novice, could someone do this for me please ans also any tips on how to setup a basic studio on a small small budget would be great!! Im far from being too posh for second hand gear so old methods are welcome.

I already have a tripod and have a diffuser ( a real small one ) a spirit level on its way for the hot shoe and two "external" flash units which could go on the hot shoe powered by batteries. I also have a remote control so i can get into the photo.

My email address is [email protected]. I put this here as im not familiar with Forums and do not know if i have set it up right so that i receive the alert of a reply.

Please help!!!

Paul

The D70 and higher cameras have a built-in commander mode for controlling multiple external flashes that transmits control signals through the built-in pop-up flash. You can set it so that the pop-up doesn't even contribute to the exposure even though it'll still flash. The D50 and lower don't have this, so you either need an SB-800 flash which has the commander function, or an SU-800 commander which doesn't have a flash built in and is only for controlling remote flashes, but does it a lot easier than through the clumsy menus on either the SB-800 or in the camera menus on the D70 and above. You can also get eBay triggers, but I've never played with those so I can't comment. The Nikon equipment will all maintain full iTTL flash control though for great exposures everytime.