How do we Quantify Exposure?

Saladsamurai

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First, I am not sure if this should be in the Digital forum or not.

Second, sorry if this question is poorly posed.

I have been doing some reading and also watching some instructive DVDs about my Canon. I am at a point where we are learning about exposure and metering.

They describe the 'Evaluative Metering' function as something to the effect of "using data from many different zones within the frame to calculate what the proper exposure should be."

Now being an engineer, I would like a little more insight into this. What "data" is the camera using for these calculations (light intesity?)? And *what exactly* is it that is being calculated? How do we quantify exposure? That is, when a value is returned to the camera, what does that value represent? And does it have units?

Thanks! And sorry for being so nerdy :blushing:

I guess, EV,
Lighting Condition EV100
Daylight
Light sand or snow in full or slightly hazy sunlight (distinct shadows)a 16
Typical scene in full or slightly hazy sunlight (distinct shadows)a, b 15
Typical scene in hazy sunlight (soft shadows) 14
Typical scene, cloudy bright (no shadows) 13
Typical scene, heavy overcast 12
Areas in open shade, clear sunlight 12
Outdoor, Natural light
Rainbows
Clear sky background 15
Cloudy sky background 14
Sunsets and skylines
Just before sunset 12–14
At sunset 12
Just after sunset 9–11
The Moon,c altitude > 40°
Full 15
Gibbous 14
Quarter 13
Crescent 12
Moonlight, Moon altitude > 40°
Full −3 to −2
Gibbous −4
Quarter −6
Aurora borealis and australis
Bright −4 to −3
Medium −6 to −5
Outdoor, Artificial Light
Neon and other bright signs 9–10
Night sports 9
Fires and burning buildings 9
Bright street scenes 8
Night street scenes and window displays 7–8
Night vehicle traffic 5
Fairs and amusement parks 7
Christmas tree lights 4–5
Floodlit buildings, monuments, and fountains 3–5